top of page

2021 Design/Honor Awards

Join us as AIA Kansas hosts and celebrates the 2021 Central States Region Design Awards!

Dondlinger Construction.png

Thank you to the award sponsors!

Bob D Campbell_Logo_4c_0.jpg
jedunn logo.png

2021 CSR & Kansas Award Presentations

All 2021 Kansas Design
Award Entries

All 2021 CSR Design
Award Entries


1 (1).jpg

Callum Vierthaler, AIA

2020 Young Architect  Award Winner

Tim Cahill & Sonya Jury_edited_edited_ed

Tim Cahill, FAIA

2019 Henry W. Schirmer Award Winner


Garric Baker, AIA

2019 Young Architect  Award Winner


Gary Nevius, AIA

2016 Henry W. Schirmer Award Winner

2021 Honor Awards Categories 

These awards are nominee-based, and some awards may not be bestowed in any particular year depending on nominees and jury discretion. 


Henry W. Schirmer Distinguished Service Award 

The Schirmer Service Award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated distinguished leadership and service on behalf of AIA Kansas and the practice of architecture over an extended period of time.  More Information/Nominate

Firm Award 

The award may be given to any nominated firm or organization of architects who have been in practice a minimum of ten years and whose home office is based within the AIA Kansas territory.

More Information/Nominate


Young Architect Award

Nominees should be shown to have contributed to design excellence, leadership in practice or education, or service to the profession or society. The nominating firm should pay for the winning architect to attend the conference. 

More Information/Nominate


25-Year Award 

The 25-Year Award recognizes completed building projects in the territory of AIA Kansas (individual buildings or complex of buildings) completed at least 25 but not more than 40 years ago.  More Information/Nominate


Award for Contributions by a Non-Architect 

Nominees may be an individual or a group and should be selected based on contributions to the profession and built environment through public works, service, research, publications, or any other efforts deemed worthy of consideration by the jury as a benefit to the discipline and community at large.  

More Information/Nominate

Deadline: Sept. 3

Questions? Contact Kelly Engelke.


Central States Region (CSR) Design Awards

  • Project must have been completed within the last five (5) years.

  • Projects previously honored in the CSR Design Awards program are not eligible for submission in the same category.

  • Any architectural project designed by an AIA Central States Region Member, located anywhere in the world; or any architectural project designed by an AIA Member
    located in the AIA Central States Region are eligible.


  • Entry Fee: $175 per submission

  • Students: $25 per submission

The AIA Central States Region Design Excellence Awards recognizes outstanding architecture coming from the region of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and  Oklahoma.  Entries must be designed by AIA CSR members or must be projects completed within the Central States Region and designed by a fellow AIA member.  


Award recipients will be publicly announced during the Virtual AIA Kansas | AIA Central States Region Design Excellence Awards Celebration on Thursday, October 7, 2021.

Questions? Contact Kelly Engelke

Call for Entries: April 1, 2021

18_0424_Pace_600x600_BW (1).jpg

Brandon Pace, FAIA, LEED

2021 CSR Jury Chair

  • Brandon Pace is a founding partner of Sanders Pace Architecture, started in Knoxville, Tennessee in 2002 with partner John Sanders. With work that is extensively researched and thoughtfully executed, Brandon has become a critical voice for a region and context often overlooked.


Dallas Felder, AIA

2021 Kansas Jury Chair

  • Dallas Felder, AIA, is the Senior Project Designer for HOK in Chicago and has over 25 years of extensive architectural and interior design experience. His role at HOK Chicago includes design studio director and creative direction for varied scaled and programmatic typologies, including science and technology, higher education, healthcare, cultural, and transportation projects.

AIA-Kansas_Transparent RED-BLACK_RGB-01.

Design Awards

  • Project must have been completed within the last five (5) years.

  • Projects previously honored in the AIA Kansas Design Awards program are not eligible for submission in the same category.

  • Projects, at any location, where over 50% of the design has been produced by, or in collaboration with an architect or associate, who is a member of AIA Kansas are eligible.

  • Entry Fee: $150 per submission

  • Students: $25 per submission

bottom of page