Modern Concrete Architecture

Design & Honor Awards

The AIA Kansas Architectural Design Awards recognize outstanding architecture from the state of Kansas. The focus of these awards is to: encourage and recognize excellence in architecture; elevate public awareness for architecture; and to recognize the architects, consultants, contractors and owners whose work brings excellence to the built environment.

Kane_John_178 (2).jpg
John Kane, FAIA

2020 Design & Honor Awards Celebration

Come Celebrate Great Design!

Wednesday, October 28

Virtual Event via Zoom

4:00 - 5:00 pm

Join this year's Jury Chair,  John Kane, and Jurors, Phillip Weddel and Catherine Spellman in celebrating the 2020 AIA Kansas Design Award winners.

Awards will be presented for Architectural Design, Preservation/Adaptive Reuse, Unbuilt Design, Small Project and Student Project.

We will also be celebrating the 2020 honor award recipient for the Emerging Professional Young Architect Award.

Attendance at this event is included in each conference registration.  Extra tickets may be purchased for $30.

Green Balconies

Design Award Categories and Descriptions

Requirements and Submission Criteria:

  1. NEW THIS YEAR! Completed architectural projects where over 50% of the design is attributed to an AIA Kansas architect.

  2. Built and unbuilt projects should have been completed within the last five (5) years;

  3. Projects may be submitted by AIAS students, Kansas licensed architects or associate architects, regardless of project location;

  4. The number and types of awarded projects is up to the jury’s discretion;

  5. No project that has previously been honored by AIA Kansas may be entered;

  6. There are no limits to firm/individual submissions;

  7. Award recipients will be publicly announced during the AIA Kansas Architectural Design Awards Celebration.  Date and time to be determined.

  8. Winning award recipients will be required to register at least one attendee for the Milestones Conference to represent their project at the Awards Celebration. We encourage you to invite your team members and clients to the celebration. Additional tickets may be purchased individually. Contact  Kelly Engelke at for more information.


Each entry will consist of:

  1. A completed project questionnaire including project information and description;

  2. At least one (1) jpeg of the entry project (to be used for publication);

  3. A PowerPoint presentation of the project including up to 14 slides with the total file size not to exceed 20MB. Each slide may contain multiple images. After beginning your submission application, you will be able to download a template PowerPoint presentation that you will be able to save and edit with your project information and images. Please save or export your final presentation to PDF format and upload to the site when it is complete.


Entry Fees:
AIA KS Members - $165.00/entry
AIAS Student Entry Fees $25.00/entry

All submissions must be received before 11:59 pm (Central Time) on July 14, 2020. The submission deadline date will be strictly observed, with no exception.

Other Information:

  1. Each entry will be assigned a unique entry number that should accompany each submission;

  2. Entrants may submit more than one project;

  3. Projects must be entered one at a time;

  4. No more than one entry is allowed per each credit card transaction;

  5. Entry fees are nonrefundable and must be paid online;

  6. You may continue to revisit and revise your entry until the deadline, but no refunds will be issued for submissions that are disqualified, late or incomplete.

Questions? Contact Kelly Engelke at AIA Kansas,



Honor Award Nominations


PO Box 4485  Topeka, KS  66604


  • Twitter
  • Facebook Social Icon

© 2019 AIA Kansas.  All rights reserved