top of page

Latest News

2023 SAP Training Flyer_edited.jpg

Be ready for severe weather season.  Get certified or renew your certification. Register Here

Lisa Shaffer, AIA Attends 2023  AIA Leadership Summit

Call for action as "Citizen Architects"

Lisa Shaffer, AIA of Alloy Architecture in Wichita attended the 2023 AIA Leadership Summit as a representative of AIA Kansas. Shaffer spent four days in Washington, D.C. learning about legislative advocacy for architecture, connecting with colleagues from around the country, and meeting with U.S. Congressmen Ron Estes and Jake LaTurner and Senators Roger Marshall and Jerry Moran. She advocated on behalf of Kansas architects and promoted two specific pieces of legislation at the national level, the Democracy in Design Act and the Resilient AMERICA Act.


In addition to advocacy on Capitol Hill, the summit challenged attendees to see themselves as "Citizen Architects"--a call to action to take on greater roles in civic advocacy within local communities. The group discussed ways of engaging with their communities as activists, whether that's through community organizing, letters to the editor, or even running for office. The charge is to advocate for the broader purposes of architecture.

"I enjoyed meeting all the wonderful members in attendance, and I am proud to have participated in my first Leadership Summit on behalf of AIA Kansas.


If you are interested in hearing more about my experience, don’t hesitate to reach out."


Lisa Shaffer, AIA, NCIDQ


Welcome to the New 2024 AIA Kansas Board!

2023 Board of Directors.png
Craig Lofton 2019_edited.jpg

Welcome from the 2024 AIA Kansas President

Craig Lofton, AIA - Alloy Architecture

Dear AIA Kansas Colleagues,

Dear AIA Kansas Members and Colleagues:

As a long-time member of AIA Kansas, and while serving on the Board of Directors for many years, I always looked up to and admired the individuals who were willing to take on the challenge of being the President. While it is an honor to accept that challenge, it is also humbling. I hope I can live up to the legacy that precedes me as I begin my service as AIA Kansas President for 2024.


As we embark on the Chapter’s 103rd year, we look to make the COVID-19 Pandemic a distant memory and build on our last two years of having in-person events. For those of you that know me, you know just how much I enjoy in-person events, and one of my biggest personal challenges, was losing my voice the morning of the first day of the AIA Kansas Annual Conference, so consequently I was not able to network like I usual do. I may have heard, more than once, that while losing my voice may have been tough for me, it may have been a blessing for others! If you were able to read the 2023 Annual Report, you will have noted that AIA Kansas accomplished many significant objectives to improve the professional lives of the members of AIA Kansas.


The 2023 Annual Conference was held in Manhattan, KS at the Bluemont Hotel, and between the venue, the interaction with the K-State College of Architecture, Planning and Design, fantastic tours, great speakers, and as usual very enjoyable time to reconnect with our friends and colleagues, I personally thought the Conference was excellent. A big highlight of the

Conference was to have Lakisha Woods, AIA National EVP/CEO and Jennifer Schlueter, AIA National Managing Director, Component Engagement join us in person, and Kimberly Dowdell, AIA National 2024 President was able to join virtually as the Opening Keynote speaker on the final day of the Conference. We look forward to this years’ Annual Conference, which will

be held in Lawrence, and we are excited to see where the venue will be, what great speakers/topics will be presented, and what ways we will be able to collaborate with the KU School of Architecture & Design.


In 2024 the AIA Kansas Board and Staff will continue to make governmental advocacy a priority and will work to increase participation in the Governmental Affairs Committee. Significant effort will continue to be put forth by the AIA Kansas Board, Staff, and Sections (Wichita, Flint Hills, and Topeka) to meet the goal of complying with the AIA National mandate to realign

all sections under their corresponding State Chapter. This has been a long and challenging process, but it appears that there may be light at the end of the tunnel.


I want to personally thank the members of the 2024 AIA Kansas Board of Directors for their valuable time to work alongside myself and the AIA Kansas Staff as we continue to guide the AIA Kansas Chapter through this year. I also look forward to seeing as many of you as possible at the various events that we will have this year.

Craig Lofton, AIA, Alloy Architecture

President, AIA Kansas

bottom of page